Awesome Deal!
Awesome Deal!

Phone Power Reviews & Service Offerings

Phone Power
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 50

Rating  93%     Rating  7%    

Phone Power
Phone Power

Phone Power

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.phonepower.com
iPhone, Android & Windows PC
AB, BC, MB, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$5.99 FREE 0
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 60 FREE

Phone Power, is one of the most popular and award wining VoIP service providers. A premier phone service alternative with frequently praised North American based customer support serving the Canadian Market. It's no wonder is ranked #1 by toptenreviews among voip providers/ home phone alternatives. Phone Power was founded in 2006, HQ in Winnetka, California. It has been growing ever since, it is the largest privately held VoIP provider in North America. 

In our Phone Power review we found an abudance of features and constant drive to provide more at no extra cost. Among the top features is FREE number portability, a free ATA with the ability to use two lines with the same number (cloned line) AND unlimited Canada and US wide calling. Among the plan their current special offer thru gonevoip is that you get 2nd year of service free, only have to pay taxes. This is the only provider offering such a generous plan in terms of features, calling coverage and term in Canada.

Phone Power also supports bring your own device (BYOD) for the majority of the best known ATAs out there (Grandstream and Linksys), give you a handy softphome for PC/laptop and an free iPhone and Android App plus 60 minutes of free international calling to any of more than 55 countries. You can also add a Virtual number anywhere in Canada, US and in over 50 countries worldwide.

Curious to see how Phone Power compares side by side to popular giant Comwave? Check out this article.

A very nice feature, explained in the video below, is to ring simultaneously in various devices; for example; calling your home phone will also ring your mobile and your office phone. See video tutorial.

Phone Power reviews are among the best, putting Phone Power as one of gonevoip.ca favorites providers. It's feature rich, it is flexible and at affordable costs with no setup fees nor contracts and very good support behind it all. 

Still Thinking about it? Call now Us to 1-855-462-5349

 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
25
Rating
13
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
3

Top Positive


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 23, 2013
Submitted by: Mats (Oshawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power Provider

I work from home and is important for me to have a reliable phone system. Had been using VOIP for years and thus far this is probably the best provider I could find. Not without the typical hiccups of using VOIP, but the customer service support is very responsive, quite often I just chat online with them. I notice no difference in sound quality when compared to Vonage and is significantly cheaper.


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

4 persons found the following review useful
March 22, 2016
Submitted by: Mathew S (Winnipeg , MB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service Works!

While I mostly use my mobile is good to have a phone line at home. We went Home Phone free for a couple of years. but ultimately decided to have something else, mobiles get hot/warm while in a call that is longer than 2", have to charge them, or these get misplaced or lost... We still have our mobile phones, but happy to have a phone service @ home that is useful and cheap. Now, I get voice-mails emailed and pick it them up on my smartphone.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
March 10, 2016
Submitted by: Steve Harrington (London , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hidden fees, watch out!

Although it may seem like a great deal there are many hidden fees. You might see an unlimited plan of $149/year, so you're thinking, OK, $12.50/mth. Not bad.

Here's what it actually is:
Breakdown of Charges:
Service Price: $149.95
Regulatory Recovery Fee $23.76
911 Cost Recovery $11.88
Federal, State and Local Services (FSLS) Recovery: $17.45
Total Fees: $203.04

Wow! Total fees, 203.04. But wait it's more this is IN US$ !!! So in CAN $ this is $270/12 = $22.50 CAN/month. Now you're entering into rip off Vonage territory. As they say on the Shark Tank, "Because your cost is too high, and you are not being transparent to your customers, and the quality of services is nominal at best...for those reasons, I'm out!"

Reply from: CrankyNanny
March 11, 2016
Relax... you probably did not read that is for 2-years instead of ONE!?! So your $270/12 shall be 270/24 instead... Though in any case, I'm happy with the service thus far, got it a couple of months ago and price is still fine, fact is just also got it for my parents to replace their Bell line.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Waldo (Kitchner , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good Features

This replaced my Rogers phone service. We ported our number and that was done in about 2-weeks with no issues. Call quality within Canada is usually good but when used to do international calls to family in Colombia there are break-outs; nothing major but annoying have you have to try a few time until you get a good connection. Happens to certain numbers, not all calls to US are as good as those within Canada.. All-in the service is cheap, and has more features than what we use. The voicemail to email though is something very useful.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 22, 2015
Submitted by: Andy (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Using my own ATA

Ported my number for free couple of months ago, I had to wait for them to assign a temporary number but other than that setup was a breeze. Since I'm using my own ATA costs have been minimal and the features are great. I have family down in the States and in Montreal and now we talk without regard of phone bills. Can't complain.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
December 7, 2015
Submitted by: Gaby (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Among the Best

It is one of the best services we had. Had it for about 2 years, going for the 3rd now. When I had to renew saw that rate changed to a monthly rate, which was something like $20 - I called them up and told them I would not renew on that rate and the rep on the phone offer me a $99+taxes annual deal for renewal, which they can set automatically.
On my years of using Phone Power this is the only time I had to call them, and have to say they were efficient and polite
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 2 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
November 7, 2015
Submitted by: Pat (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Overall good choice

Switched to PP from Ma Bell. I was paying 36CAD a month for just the dial tone and no call features... This is by far better Thanks.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
October 13, 2015
Submitted by: Irwin Hartman (NEPEAN , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very Good Service and palans

I have had Phone Power for a full year. Two lines, one for business and one personal. There was some issue at first getting a 2 line phone to work with one adapter and Phone Power does not support that. They suggested two separate phone. I should have asked for two adapters. Aside from that the occasion re-boot of the adapter and the rare poor quality (mostly due to the 2 line phones) there has been no issue. The call features are numerous and great. Love the voice mail send as a file to my cell phone The re- routing to my cell phone when the power goes out of the adapter needs a re-boot is very convenient and I never miss a call.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
February 7, 2015
Submitted by: John Daz (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Price, Service & Support

I've been a customer for a couple of years now and this seems to have the better mix. It's very reasonable priced, the service is very reliable. Their website is one of the best I've seen in the market (better than Vonage, I used to be with them) Last but not least is the support; I'll explain on this one; a while back decided to upgrade our home phones to a new Panasonic DECT set. At the same time it occured like a good idea to have multimedia media center converge with the ATA line in the basement. Seemed like a good idea all in one place; though I started having chopped voice, breaking up and so on. The Technical Support at Phone Power after some troubleshooting and making some questions quickly pointed the issue. I had the ATA too close to other equipment and that was causing interference (or noise as they called it) - well moved the ATA to another location and that did it. No more issues. I haven't had to call them that often but I'm gladly impressed on their level of knowledge and care; they called a couple of days later to follow-up to see if everything was fine, which they wouldn't have to do it since the issue was more or less self-made and not their making. I'll be staying with Phone Power.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 4, 2015
Submitted by: Jesus (London , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Beats Bell's Home Phone

For years we had Bell; first on my parents house and then on my own. I switched a bit over a year ago and couldn't be happier. It's packed with features we would had to pay extra with Bell. We get Canada/US wide free and unlimited calling. We don't really know what is the limit of the unlimited , but as of yet we have yet to reach it. Their support was a bit rough at first but they've made improvements on their online chat and with their staff. Couple of times we got callbacks to make sure everything was working and in order. Will definitively renew and do recommend.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 14, 2014
Submitted by: Mariana (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

New Phone

For the last few years had only had our mobile, no other phone at our household at all. Someone at work made comments about voip/phone power, and considering was/is relatively zero risk decided to give them a try. Since we got a new number is not a lot of people that calls us in, yet, but we do have family overseas and I can attest calling out is cheaper and as far as I can tell call quality is good. Recently went to LA for work and used the iPhone app for my PP Home Phone to actually make calls to Toronto and local/US calls thru it (free Canada/US calling better than roaming) using the Hotel free Wi-Fi network.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
November 10, 2014
Submitted by: Jamie Cordero (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone

Well, been using Phone Power for the last couple of months now, and all I can say is that is actually quite good. I did ported my number from Rogers, they do it for free anyway so instead of cancelling I just kept it. The PROS: this is cheap and surprisingly good; CONS: I have yet to find one..
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
October 4, 2014
Submitted by: Edward (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It's a good service

This is one of those things I tell myself how come didn't switch earlier? Anyhow now the review; the call quality is same as it was before (bell) we can call anywhere now in Canada an not incur in long distance fees
Have not used the app but the voicemail to email is a nice addition. We had the misadventure of having to use/call 911 and service, as far as I can tell worked as usual
A good service and would recommend.

Reply from: Amir
October 9, 2014
WOW, this is a very good scam, so its 5.99 per month and the second year is free...Its 5.99 for the 24 months, that's 2 years. there is no free business.

Reply from: @Amir
October 9, 2014
Call it whatever you want though at 5.99 it sure beats paying up 40 something bucks for (dis)similar service...
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
September 25, 2014
Submitted by: Pierre P. (Trois-Rivières , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Troubles.

Looking for problems, get Phone Power VOIP. After one year, we had to contact their support 23 times for diverse problems, mostly outbound or inbound calls not getting through. Today, on sept. 25, 2014, Phone Power is still down so that I cannot contact my own children. If your cable company offers the same service and has a clean reputation, I would suggest you hook up with them instead of PhonePower.

Reply from: Lionel
September 26, 2014
Well that's terrible experience; but totally different from what I've been thru. I have actually switched myself from Rogers and just a while back my parents. The difference between what was being paid and service is just way too much. The only one time my parents had issues, was on my dad's bday from all the dates! - Phone Power support team was really outstanding; they did changed not sure what in where et voila! What I did I chatted with them/Phone Power Technical Support online and they offer me to call me back to continue the resolution over the phone. Couple of days later they called back to check/make sure everything was good! How is that for a contrast in experience? 23 issues you say? isn't it weird? From my experience I say they are pretty good/solid. Granted I'm in Toronto and parents in Calgary, that may be a difference? In my case beats paying up gold and a leg to the usual suspects.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 31, 2014
Submitted by: Thiago (Aurora , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very Good Service

This is a very good service, when compared to what I had from Bell makes me wonder doh! how come we were still paying $40 something for just local calls??
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 5, 2014
Submitted by: Esteban (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best phone

About a month ago switched/ditched Bell for this service. I can say enough good things about it. With the World Cup in progress we spent a lot of time on the phone with our extended family in Colombia. It has been amazing to just pick-up the phone and call whomever we want to. Signed for the international calling and is just very good service, can't tell the difference and not worrying about using phone cards or minutes nor the outrageous rates Bell would charge in the odd occasion we used. Makes me wonder why we didn't switch earlier? Anyhow, now we do recommend to anyone who asks.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 17, 2014
Submitted by: Shawn (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Loving Voip!

Im loving this new service. Was hesitant to switch out from Bell, but after years and years of abuse decided was enough of it and took the leap of faith. Though thus far Im really impressed, the service people at Phone Power seems they care and know what they are doing. Im not a technical person at all and I was with them through the initial connection. A few days later they called to see how things where working? Imagine that!!

Voice quality is great, and for things like caller id and voicemail we were paying extra it's all included. Only regret is not switching earlier!! While I had it for about a month only this has already surpassed my expectations, in a very good way.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 8, 2014
Submitted by: Scott (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Low Cost

We had long switched to use a Digital Phone (VIOP) with our internet provider when late last year found this offer. We get 2 years worth of service with calling anywhere in Canada and US along with some modern features all coming under $160!! That is like 80 per year, its very cheap when compared to others and quality wise I would say is even better, never really liked the quality of Distributel Home Phone. Note you do have to pay up-font (which includes the 2 years of service) and its essentially a non-issue since it is not a contract. Overall we have recommended to family and friend since you cant beat the combination of incredible low cost, features and quality for a digital home phone in my experience is the best. I had to reset thier adaptor, which is also included what you pay, as we had no calls going out but their were getting calls redirected to my wife's mobile as per the failsafe # configuration. We had similar issues every so now and then with Distributel, but we did not have that redirect to a mobile though.
Hope this helps - it is a good alternative.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 2, 2014
Submitted by: Manish (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service started choppy but once switched internet is flawless

We had been using Phone Power for about 5-months now. At the very beginning we did had issues (poor call quality, voice was metallic or would be breaking off) and almost we switched off. Though have to say hands-off to Phone Power technical support team. Not only they tried everything, followed-up but ultimately pointed to the problem. I had Acanac DSL Highspeed Internet; Acanac's support was not helpful at all. Finger pointing to Phone Power's ATA (which they did changed) and trying to charge me for a modem change... Long story short changed to Start High Speed on Cable and ever since no more issues. Phone Power support team was able to trace back everything to and from my ATA and they said my internet connection was affecting as packets (of some sort..) begun to go out of sequence it arrived into my internet provider domain.
Anyhow, since got my internet connection not only got a faster connection but also got great call quality and love the feature you get your voicemail in your email. All in all, very satisfied with the switch (first ever VoIP provider).

Reply from: Manish
August 5, 2014
Hi Anthony, switched to Start High Speed internet, via Cable (before had Acanac via DSL).

Reply from: Antony
July 29, 2014
hi Manish, could you advice me which ISP did you switch to? i too am contemplating changing my ISP but dont know any reliable one to switch too.

your response will be much appreciated.,
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
December 19, 2013
Submitted by: Susan (Markham , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

We switched to Phone Power

We had been using VOIP for the past 4-years - as it really is that cheap when compared to Bell or Rogers. Then we saw this ad and decided to switch to Phone Power. It is a lot cheaper than Vonage and it does have a lot of more features and it even includes free international calling minutes! The number porting was done for free - the only hiccup we had in this first two months of service was that the website sometimes seemed slow, but that has improved a lot since a recent upgrade they've done. Overall this is perhaps the best voip provider we have had and we have recommended to other family members.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Billing In US or Canadian Dollars?


It's in USD - though even in that case is so good there's simple no comparison. The features, quality and support are excellent. I been with them for over a year now. Quality is very good, I pay in advance so dollar fluctation doesn't affect me much, depends on how it is at that point. Though still is waaaay cheaper than Rogers (I used to have) I pay for the year what I once paid for the month to Rogers when I had to call family overseas, so to me is one of those things well worth it.


I have the service. I think works the same everywhere. (I'm in Surrey, BC) In order to get the savings you prepaid for the year, and they send you the device and port your existing phone number for free. I also used the code to get $15 off - which makes the shipping free too. I'm happy with Phone Power and have recommended to family in Toronto area.

Please provide details about home phone in Calgary, Alberta Canada with monthly fees, equip cost and any other associated/ applicable costs.Thanks

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(42 ) Reviews + (8) Replies: 50

Rating  93%     Rating  7%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$4.75 / mo.
Read 159 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 44 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
CAD $11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$5.99 / mo.
Read 50 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Yak
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
Worldline
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
Page generated in 1.1001 seconds.