Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 53

Rating  71%     Rating  29%    

Yak
Yak

Yak

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.yak.ca
Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi
AB, BC, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.95 Shipping: $8.95 Other: $Inst: $49.95 / Modem: $25 No

Download: 6Mbps

Upload: 1Mbps

Cap: 60GB to Unlimited

Overage: $0.50/GB

With lightning-fast speed and a generous bandwidth allowance, Yak Internet saves its customers some serious moola!

Founded in 1998 with a promise of high-quality, low-cost, contract-free service, Yak has served over 1 million Canadians from coast-to-coast.

Yak has challenged the oligopoly created by big communication companies since its inception, working around the clock to evolve its product line and expand coverage. Their goal – drive prices down to fair levels, and reduce Canada’s reliance on inflated companies who charge outrageous fees to support fat paycheques.

In 2009, Yak proudly created 120 new jobs in Canada by opening a Customer Support Center in Windsor, Ontario. 100% of its support staff are based in Canada, and committed to offering bilingual support wherever you are, whenever you need it.

About Yak Internet Service:

Yak believes Canadians deserve High-Speed Internet Service at a fair price, with no contracts and no limits. With both Cable and DSL Internet Service covering 80% of the country, they have lots of options to help you surf and save.

While other companies cap downloading or reduce your speed when you’ve used ‘too much’, Yak ensures the Internet has no limits. Think of it as true digital freedom, with the ability to surf, share, download and binge however you like.

Live in a large household? Go Unlimited (optional) and never worry about overage fees again, no matter how many devices and services are hooked up to your Internet service.

Best of all – bundle your Internet service with Yak Home Phone and really save big!

Go ahead and enjoy that extra money you’ll save. It’s time to #Ungouge.

  • Choose Your Plan: High-Speed Cable Internet and High-Speed DSL Internet are available in Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta.
  • Choose Your Cap: 60GB, 150GB, 200GB, 250GB, 300 GB or go Unlimited.
  • Available Fixed IP for DSL
  • Unlimited: $0 for Cable, $8-$15 for DSL (depending on location and plan)
  • Connect all your household devices to Yak Internet and enjoy great service at a great price.

Why Bundle:

Avoid flashy 3-month offers on a multi-year contract, where providers treat you nicely until you’ve signed up and are locked in. With a Yak Bundle, the great service stays great, and the everyday low price you see is the price you keep. There’s no contract when you sign up – just better service and lower prices.

Plus, get up to 6 months of free Home Phone service when you Bundle today. How much will you save every year by bundling Yak Home Phone and Internet?

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
11
Rating
5
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
9
When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling thankful thankful !

Top Positive


23 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small (Burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very good

Great for the whole family. We bundled with Home Phone and got some additional savings. Everything has been smooth from buying, to install, to connecting with our Netflix and XBox. Spent all of the Christmas holidays streaming without data caps. Amazed by how many devices run well on one connection. We had problems with Comwave in the past, but very happy with yak.

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

It sounds like your family of 'super users' is having a super amount of fun with Yak! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

23 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


17 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 27, 2015
Submitted by: Vince (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrrrrible

They made me pay shipping on items.. Why couldn't the tech just bring them? Not to mention the tech they sent didn't even set it up, came and left my house left internetless for another 3-4 days! Yak is terrible everyone is so bad!

Reply from: The Yak Team On: October 27, 2015
Hi Vince,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. It is a separate company that provides installation for our service so unfortunately we have to ship the modem separately. We hope your Internet is working now. If you have any further issues, please contact our support team at 1-877-925-4925 and we would be happy to help.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

17 Yes No 2 Report abuse


All Reviews

October 28, 2016
Submitted by: Valeriu Dodon (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling thankful Thankful
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Testing Feeling

It's displayed correctly
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
October 27, 2016
Submitted by: Gregorio (mount albert , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

testing feeling

text goes in here
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 2, 2016
Submitted by: Cindy (Hamilton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Rip Off

I have to say, Yak Internet services is a total rip-off. I had called and asked to have my internet service with them terminated as of July 23/2016. I called today and found out that it wasn't done. The service, at best, was very intermittent and I had to unplug the system and restart it multiple times throughout an evening. I had nothing but issues with the service from day one. Now, because I trusted that the service would have been disconnected as of July 23/16, like I had asked, I will be billed for a portion of the month that I never even used their internet services...a total rip off.

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Cindy,

If you provide your account number (via marketing@yak.ca), we'll take a look into things and see if any charges can be reversed. If not, we'll provide a full explanation of the charges incurred.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 28, 2016
Submitted by: Ben (Calgary , AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very unreliable

The price is pretty decent and it seemed like very good value for money, but unfortunately I cannot recommend yak. Don't think I ever actually got the speed I paid for, frequent outages and very rude and unhelpful customer service. When it worked it worked ok, but just too unreliable. Against my better judgement I am switching to Shaw

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Ben,

Sorry to hear your experience was less than expected. We're happy to recommend different equipment to boost your speed, if you decide to give Yak another shot.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 28, 2016
Submitted by: dan (montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Great

So i've been with them for a year now, first I took the 10 download 1 upload plan, which wasn't that great (I was really getting 8 down and 0,5 up)
For this I had to give a 100$ deposit (so I could borrow their modem) and a 90$ installation fee.
Connection was stable and all.
Then I decided to upgrade to 25 up 10 down (the upgrade was free of any charge and they lent me a better modem)
Now I'm getting exactly as advertised 25 down 10 up and stable connection.

Bare in mind this is Bell's service basically, they're just a reseller, so when you have a problem Bell come's to fix it.

The only downside is sometimes the slow waiting on customer support, but once you get someone on the phone they're very helpful

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Dan,

We're glad to hear you're enjoying Yak Internet. If you have any questions, please feel free to send a note our way (marketing@yak.ca).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 26, 2016
Submitted by: Joel Schwarz (New Westminster , BC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

3 weeks without phone or internet

I decided to switch over to yak based on the positive reviews I had read here. My port over date from telus was supposed to be June 30th. It's now July 25th and my family is still without phone or internet. It's been a really hard time for my family to go without those services for so long. The worst part about the process is no one seems to call me back when they say they will to follow up. I've spent nearly every day on the phone trying to hound people who said they will call me back but don't. (I've been having to call from my cell phone which I had to get because of not having a home phone.) I've also been told a supervisor will call me back but I have yet to hear from one. It just seems like there's no real hurry from anyone on yak's side to give me updates. My family just feels really, really undervalued as customers and uncared for. I have been calm and haven't lost it once on the phone with anyone during this process. But I'm starting to feel like blowing my fuse is the only way I'll be taken seriously. I have also tried the route or writing numerous emails but no one has ever replied to one of them yet. Very, very disappointing in almost every way.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 26, 2016
Hi Joel,

We're committed to making this right for you. A senior member of the team is looking into this, and will be in touch shortly. If you have any additional concerns, please contact us using marketing@yak.ca for an expedited response.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 4, 2016
Submitted by: Dimitra Kanellopoulos (Laval , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Monthly draw

We have been using Yak for the past couple of weeks. We are satisfied. I love that I can access my messages by email.

Thanks,

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 4, 2016
Hi Dimitra,

We're honoured to have a place in your home. If there's anything we can do to make Yak Home Phone even better for you, please don't hesitate to let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 27, 2016
Submitted by: Rachael (Orangeville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Bundled for extra savings

I have a bundled package with Yak for cable internet and home phone. I switched with them because the prices were lower, especially with home phone. Their cable internet is also unlimited and fast so I can stream videos with no worries of it lagging or going over my data limit. Overall, great package deal.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 27, 2016
Hi Rachael,

We're glad to hear you're enjoying Yak Home Phone and Internet. To UNLIMITED and beyond!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
June 18, 2016
Submitted by: Talia P. (Ashburn , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

internet service

Have been with Yak for a few months now and I am loving their internet service. It's dependable and the price is awesome. Anytime I have any problems I just restart the modem and it all works fine again.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 20, 2016
Hi Talia,

We're pleased to hear you're enjoying Yak Internet. If your connectivity dips continue, please give our team a call at 1-877-925-4925 and we'll work to resolve this.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 6, 2016
Submitted by: Dawn Nelson (Windsor , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

great job

great work do highly reccomend

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 13, 2016
Hi Dawn,

Thanks for the seal of approval! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please let us know.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
May 29, 2016
Submitted by: Andrew (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Yak - Don't do it for internet access

Purchased DSL 25/10, which when it comes into the house wired with an ethernet cable, it does meet the speed as advertised but wirelessly it is abysmal. So in reality, when using the modem wirelessly, you get between 1.5 and 6 MBPS depending on time of day.

Proximity to source isn't relevant and was getting this sitting right beside the modem. They don't give a crap when you point this out to them and NO WHERE in their advertising does it say you have to be wired to get those speeds. They also refused to refund money for the set-up costs despite the extremely misleading advertising.

I had been with Bell prior and their modems deliver very close to 25 MBPS wirelessly, even at the furthest point we are picking up at least around 18 mbps consistently.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 2, 2016
Hi Andrew,

It sounds like there may be an issue with your modem as our service is capable of reaching higher speeds with a wireless modem.

Please email us at marketing@yak.ca and we would be happy to look into this issue for you.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
May 12, 2016
Submitted by: Sasha (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Disastrous customer service, poor features

Stopped being their customer for few months, decided to cancel as I moved. Kept charging for 4 months after I cancelled. Been trying to get a refund for almost a year now. Spoke to 5 agents who all told me I would be credited - never happened. DO NOT BUY THEIR SERVICES.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 13, 2016
Hi Sasha,

We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Please email us at marketing@yak.ca with your account information and we will be happy to look into this issue further for you.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
May 1, 2016
Submitted by: Linda Sobey (Maple Glen , NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Long Distance

My questions were answered quickly.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 2, 2016
Hi Linda,

Thanks for the feedback. If there's anything we can do for you, please don't hesitate to ask via e-mail - marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 12, 2016
Submitted by: Martin (West Vancouver , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good!

I get my 5 Mbps as promised. One brief outage a few days ago. Modem arrived a day late, but Yak said they'd credit me & it was only a minor inconvenience. I'm happy because I no longer feel I'm being gouged.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 12, 2016
Hi Martin,

Thanks for the feedback. We're honoured you chose Yak to 'ungouge' from high prices, silly fees and sticky contracts!

If you have any questions about service, or any suggestions about how we can make your experience even better, please let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
April 12, 2016
Submitted by: Lindy Dalgaard (Trenton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

so -so

I have had the installation for nearly two months and I have had problems with connectivity since day one and problems with internet connection to my desktop computer which I solved myself by installing a second router. When system is working all is OK.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 13, 2016
Hi Lindy,

Please send an e-mail to marketing@yak.ca with your account number, and we'll see what can be done to troubleshoot and fix your issue permanently.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
March 24, 2016
Submitted by: chi (Markham , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

great service

Switched over to yak over a month ago and have enjoyed the unlimited Internet.

Reply from: The Yak Team
March 29, 2016
Hi Chi,

We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying Yak High-Speed Internet! To UNLIMITED and beyond!!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
March 18, 2016
Submitted by: Luna L (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

definitely recommend based on service and price

I had Yak Internet installed about a month ago. I was worried about getting the modem shipped to me in time and had to call to check the status of its delivery. The sales rep made sure to call me the day before my installation to let me know that it would arrive in time, which it did. The installation went smoothly and I was able to schedule it for later in the evening without having to miss work which was a bonus. I did a speed test a few days after the internet was installed and I am quite happy with the speeds I am getting. I signed up for 15mbps and consistently receive between 12-15 mbps speeds. I also stream a lot and the bandwidth that comes with the plan has been more than enough. Overall, the installation was seamless and the internet speed is consistent. I am very happy with the service and price and would recommend to anyone.

Reply from: The Yak Team
March 21, 2016
Hi Luna,

We're happy to hear you're enjoying Yak High-Speed Internet! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please e-mail marketing@yak.ca and let us know!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
February 21, 2016
Submitted by: Athena (Vancouver , BC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

A horrible experience with replacing my modem

Short version: My modem broke down and I made 13 calls and spent two weeks without Internet as the operators kept giving me false info.

Long version:
Saturday 6th, early in the morning I noticed my cable modem stopped working so I called tech support. The guy asked about my availability and said a technician would come on Sunday. I doubted a local provider had anything to do with the modem but I guessed it would be no harm, so I agreed.

Sunday afternoon no one came so I called again, she said no, it was impossible for a technician to come this soon. She told me to wait for a call on Monday.

Monday I received no call so I called Yak again and the guy said a technician was booked to come on Tuesday. I had never been informed of this!

Tuesday morning I called to confirm since I was beginning to have trust issues with Yak, and the guy said yes a technician would come, and he would call back to follow up. He never did, I'm not surprised.

Later a technician came (finally) and told me the cable was fine, they were not responsible for the modem.So again I called Yak and told them I needed a new modem, she said she needed to talk to her supervisor and would call me, but she never did.

So same day afternoon I called Yak, the operator said yes they would ship me a new one. I asked for a tracking number (for a obvious reason) and she said it would be available after 24 hours.

Same time on Wednesday I called, no tracking number.

Same time on Thursday I called, no tracking number. She said "it should have been shipped two days ago I don't know why..." Couldn't agree more!

Friday I called Yak again, she said the modem had just been shipped, but the tracking number didn't look right, and said a correct one would be available on Saturday. She told me it was a priority shipping so I would receive the modem before Wednesday. Turns out that's not true.

Saturday morning I called, the operator said no, there was no tracking number! And it wouldn't be available till Tuesday! I asked "do you guys read from the same note?" But since I didn't remember the names of the operators from before, I failed to debate with him.

On Sunday I called again, this time the answer was closer to Friday, the tracking number didn't look right and a correct one would be available on Monday.

I'd never heard that one before! I was done with them and didn't call on Monday. And finally that day I received an email with the tracking number. On Friday 19th I received the modem.

The nightmare is not over yet since one of the operators said there would be a return package for the broken modem, but there isn't. And another operator said I wouldn't be charged for the new modem, it makes sense but SOMEHOW I don't believe her now. And what's gonna make up for my two weeks with no Internet? Compared to this tormenting waste of time, even a Chinese New Year with no Internet to Skype with families doesn't seem that bad. And somehow the speed seems slower, but I'm too horrified to call the tech support.

Reply from: The Yak Team
February 23, 2016
Hi Athena,

Thank you for the detailed explanation of your issue.

The Support Team noted your preferred time for a technician visit, but could not confirm a day until hearing back from a technician (3rd party). Our team let you know it would take 48 hours for confirmation of day and time the Installer would return.

The technician confirmed two days later that they would arrive on the 9th, and did.

Your modem was confirmed to be the issue on the 10th. A new modem was shipped from Ontario on the 12th, and arrived at your address in BC 4 business days later.

We strive to meet every challenge with quick resolution. We conducted troubleshooting, sent a technician, tested, isolated the issue, and sent a replacement in under a week. A member of our team is working to resolve your speed question.

Your feedback is very important to us, and the team is changing the tracking number process to ensure administering and access to this becomes seamless.

If you have further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at marketing@yak.ca

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 1 Report abuse
23 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small (Burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very good

Great for the whole family. We bundled with Home Phone and got some additional savings. Everything has been smooth from buying, to install, to connecting with our Netflix and XBox. Spent all of the Christmas holidays streaming without data caps. Amazed by how many devices run well on one connection. We had problems with Comwave in the past, but very happy with yak.

Reply from: The Yak Team
January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

It sounds like your family of 'super users' is having a super amount of fun with Yak! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 23 Yes No 0 Report abuse
17 persons found the following review useful
October 27, 2015
Submitted by: Vince (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrrrrible

They made me pay shipping on items.. Why couldn't the tech just bring them? Not to mention the tech they sent didn't even set it up, came and left my house left internetless for another 3-4 days! Yak is terrible everyone is so bad!

Reply from: The Yak Team
October 27, 2015
Hi Vince,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. It is a separate company that provides installation for our service so unfortunately we have to ship the modem separately. We hope your Internet is working now. If you have any further issues, please contact our support team at 1-877-925-4925 and we would be happy to help.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 17 Yes No 2 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Does Yak provide Internet in Surrey, BC?


Hi Alana,We do! For more information, please give us a call at 1-877-925-4925.Sincerely,The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse


Hello I am looking to have a question answered, I live with my mother and I have my own internet right now, but my mother wants to switch to Yak for her phone and internet. Can we have 2 internet providers in one home. I would also like to see if Yak works before I cancel my internet.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Hello I was wondering if I am able to use my gmail chat with your internet.


Hi Eva,Yes - you'll be able to use it.Sincerely,The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I havent been able to get on my account for the past 2 months. What should I do?


Hi Mary,Please give our Support Team a call at 1-877-925-4925.We're happy to assist.Sincerely,The Yak Team
Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

can i use my gmail account for calling


Hi Robina, Gmail offers a simple outbound dialer, and is not connected to the Yak Home Phone service. Yak Home Phone offers 12 features, unlimited local outbound calling, unlimited Yak-to-Yak calling worldwide, unlimited inbound minutes, hundreds of free North American calling minutes per month, and crystal clear audio quality. Did we mention no contract or sneaky fees of any kind? We hope you'll choose Yak as your Home Phone service provider! Please let us know if you have any additional questions :) Sincerely, The Yak Team
Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to Know It’s The Right Time to Move To The Cloud Platform1

2As more and more businesses understand's the many advantages of keeping vital information on the easy-to-access Cloud Drive, a Cloud based infrastructure is becoming more and more commonplace. Despite the growing popularity, not everyone knows …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(27 ) Reviews + (26) Replies: 53

Rating  71%     Rating  29%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Yak
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
Worldline
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$4.75 / mo.
Read 159 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 44 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
CAD $11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
Page generated in 1.11 seconds.