Best Phone
Best Phone

Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 162

Rating  69%     Rating  31%    

Yak
Yak

Yak

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.yak.ca
Android, iPhone & SIP Client
AB, BC, MB, NB, NFLD, NS, NU, SK, YU, ON & QC
1-866-748-1076

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$4.75 FREE
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: DTP

Rather than locking customers into multi-year contracts, Yak offers the best telephone solutions at the lowest prices to win the business of its customers on a daily basis. Founded in 1998 under that very premise, Yak has provided high-quality, contract-free telecommunications services to over 1 million Canadians. 

In 2009, Yak proudly created 120 new jobs in Canada by opening a Customer Support Center in Windsor, Ontario. 100% of its support staff are based in Canada, and committed to offering bilingual support wherever you are, whenever you need it

About Yak Home Phone Service, hundreds of long distance minutes, free local calling, and ALL 11 features Canadians know and love are available for $9.50 per month (the first two months are $4.75, and there’s no contract)! Plus, customers can keep their current number! Yak recognizes the telephone market has a negative reputation, so they offer the first month free or first two months at half-price, allowing you to experience how great their service really is without any strings attached and no contract – ever.

Yak has worked hard to earn the trust of their customers; another way Yak is different is its ATA rental fee. The rental is rent-to-own; so after 12-months the ATA is yours to keep and the fee goes away. You can also choose to buy the ATA outright for $25. For a small fee, you can purchase toll-free numbers or virtual numbers (extra numbers in other area codes)

New is the introduction of a smartphone app, works in 3G/LTE and Wi-Fi networks, available for Android and iPhone and is fully integrated with your Home Phone (same number/no further plans required to make best use of it) .

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
36
Rating
13
Rating
11
Rating
6
Rating
18
When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling disappointed disappointed !

Top Positive


24 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small (Burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

BEST Home Phone we've ever had

I live with my husband and we've been Home Phone free for almost a decade.Two months ago we heard about Yak Home Phone from a friend and decided that for less than $10 a month, it could be a smart addition to our home - something for the kids to use, a way to save on long distance (1.9 cents a minute to our family in Florida) and a back-up in case of emergency.

This is by far the best Home Phone we've ever had. The quality of our calls are better than any traditional Home Phone service we had with Bell and Rogers. The price is insanely low. All of the features and long distance minutes we need are already included.

I don't usually write reviews, but wanted to say the people at yak have made me a believer in telecom again. Nice people, great products, great pricing. Thank you yak!

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

We're excited to have a place in your home! If there's anything else we can do to make your experience even better, feel free to contact us at marketing@yak.ca!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

24 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


23 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 15, 2016
Submitted by: Lucien J Bourque (Gatineau , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unable to get Yak to close account

I had the intention of going to the Yak home phone service in early October of 2015. Somewhere along the line, a problem arose with Bell Canada as we were switching at about the same time to Bell for TV and internet service. My phone service with Yak was cancelled as we got connected with Bell for phone service as well as TV and internet. Meantime, unable to get Yak to discontinue service, let alone, stop charging me the monthly phone rate. This has been going on since October 2015 and my messages aren't being answered. How would you feel?

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 15, 2016
Hi Lucien,

Thanks for the note. Canadian law requires account verification and verbal authorization to alter the status of an account (so we know you're you). The Support Team has been unsuccessful reaching you, and hasn't heard from you since providing this request via voicemail and e-mail in October.

We will reach out to you again by phone today :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

23 Yes No 5 Report abuse


All Reviews

July 30, 2018
Submitted by: Joe Doe (Canadian , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

not cool

This is a not cool review test
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 14, 2017
Submitted by: Joe (Kleinburg , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unstable

The price is right, the features are great and when it works it sounds great no problem. However, you better have a rock solid internet connection that never disconnects because when it disconnects (even momentarily) or if you need to reset your modem for whatever reason, your phone stops working until you call YAK so that they can set up a different profile for you. For example, if my internet disconnects for a few minutes every now and then (like all modems do) all my Wi-Fi enabled products will lose signal but eventually they connect again on their own once the Wi-Fi is back up...not my YAK home phone! I have to call them to do something on their end to get a dial tone again. I have spoken at length with the yak customer service team trying to understand why this is the case and the answer is that's just the way it is. This is not practical or sensible because if I'm at work and my phone goes down at home how do I know that it's down? In the meantime I am missing important calls all day. What if I am away on vacation for a week....am I expected to miss a weeks worth of calls until I return and call YAK to update the profile? I left Rogers after many years because I wanted a more sensibly priced home phone, and I took the leap and went with yak. However, I've made more service calls to yak in 2 months then I did with Rogers in 6 years. This is very discouraging because it reinforces that we really do have a duopoly here with Rogers and Bell.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
August 6, 2016
Submitted by: Lise Guilbault (Longueuil , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Best land phone solution I've seen

solution with added service of drop-off message to email. Love it !

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 8, 2016
Hi Lise,

We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying Yak Home Phone. If there's anything we can do to make the service even better, please let us know by e-mail (marketing@yak.ca).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 16, 2016
Submitted by: Bill Roberts (Upper Tantallon , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Limited Access, Unreliable Service

My Halifax Yak phone is unable to access 311 (Halifax Regional Municipality) , 511 (Nova Scotia Highway Reports), 811 (Medical Help Line) and 310-3776 (Pioneer Fuels) all of which were accessible with my previous land line. For some reason Yak prepends a 1 in front of each of these codes. Several E mails, but no response from Yak. Would appreciate an explanation or better yet, a fix!
Occasionally incoming calls go direct to voice mail without ringing the phone and outgoing calls result in no ring no answer conditions.
Service is not up to land line criteria.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 18, 2016
Hi Bill,

We should be able to resolve these items for you. Please give our team a call to troubleshoot at a time convenient for you - 1-877-925-4925.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 14, 2016
Submitted by: Sara Jordan (St. Catharines , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Awful

I called YAK yesterday to complain about my phone number (I have two......... one YAK and one BELL). The YAK one wasn't working. The tech support guy asked me for another number where he could call me to make sure everything was working. I gave him the BELL number. Before you know it, I got an email saying "Thank you for switching xxx-xxxx to YAK" It's going to take me another couple of hours on the phone to undo this before it's a horror story. As soon as I saw the notification I contacted YAK within 60 seconds (and around 10 minutes of being on hold). They said that the technician had gone home and I'd have to wait a day. I do NOT believe that tech support is based in Windsor. If it were, the tech support guys would have a better command of the English language. It sounds more like Pakistan to me. It wouldn't matter, if they didn't make mistakes.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 14, 2016
Hi Sara,

Sounds like there was a misunderstanding about the product resolution you called in for. We're happy to reverse this for you, and will do so in the time frame promised.

Our entire Support Team - including Tech - is based entirely in Canada :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 8, 2016
Submitted by: Rachel (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Voip Quality

Very pleased with Yak services.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 11, 2016
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for the seal of approval! If there's anything we can do to make our services even better for you, please let us know!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 8, 2016
Submitted by: Trevor (Kamloops , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Wish I had found Yak Sooner

Clear line, excellent features, responsive staff and lowest cost: WHAT COULD BE BETTER?

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 11, 2016
Thanks for the kind words, Trevor. We're proud to have a spot in your home!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 4, 2016
Submitted by: Sherry (Sydney Mines , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Convenience and Budget Friendly Prices keys to YAK sucess

As a 40 something individual, the thought of switching to a VOIP home phone was a little daunting, especially after starting to conduct a little research. There seemed to be endless options to choose from with confusing information on their services...except with YAK. There service is very straightforward and very economically priced. The setup is easy and the option to add an additional line or switch your existing phone number is very quick and painless. The customer service staff is always helpful and you can have a phone number for any location you wish, regardless of where you live. I love the convenience of taking my phone with me where my laptop goes without having to sign a contract or endure costly cell phone charges. This service not only eliminated the need for a cell phone but also reduced my home phone bill tremendously. I would recommend YAK above other VOIP providers simply because of their straight forward pricing and their quick and easy set up.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 5, 2016
Hi Sherry,

Your review sums up everything we are working hard to achieve at Yak: high quality, low cost, flexible service to make Canadian Telecom a better place. Thank you for the gleaming review :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 27, 2016
Submitted by: Rachael (Orangeville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Saving with bundle

I have a bundled package with Yak for home phone and cable internet. I switched with them because the prices were lower and with their bundled package the price of home phone is less than $10 a month which is great since I was unsure of keeping the home phone in the first place but for that price, why not? Internet service is also really good.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 27, 2016
Hi Rachael,

We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying your Yak Bundle!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 23, 2016
Submitted by: Manon L. (St-Jerome , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

pourri!!!!!!! Yak=Yark!!!

Ligne qui ne fonctionne pas bien, services techniques qui ne résout pas les problèmes, attente ultra longue pour parler à la facturation, 3 mois de retard pour un remboursement et qui n'est toujours pas émis encore à ce jour, service pourri pourri pourri, et on nous dit tout le temps qu'on ne peut rien faire. YAK=YARK!!! pourri pourri pourri sur toute la ligne!

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 23, 2016
Bonjour Manon,

Nous sommes désolés d'apprendre que vous aviez un problème. Si vous souhaitez que nous l'escalade pour des tests supplémentaires, s'il vous plaît fournir votre numéro de compte pour nous à marketing@yak.ca.

Cordialement,
Yak
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 17, 2016
Submitted by: eilene gerofsky (london , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

almost perfect...

For the most part, I appreciate the savings that we experience using Yak. A few problems occur, but not too often. As a senior I appreciate the savings a lot and can put up with the occasional scratchy sounds pr not connecting..it is a big savings and I really find the agents are kind people. wonderful helpful and patient.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 20, 2016
Hi Eilene,

We're honoured to have a place in your home. If you'd like any assistance, please e-mail us at marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 10, 2016
Submitted by: william Lucas (Hamilton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Yak best provider

Before I signed up with yak I was paying over $80.00 per month for my telephone service.
Now I only pay $10.00 WOW

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 13, 2016
Hi William,

Keeping your household and wallet happy is our top priority! Thanks for the thumbs up!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 8, 2016
Submitted by: David (Wolfville , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Good company, but quality lacking

Setting up home phone service with Yak was relatively easy, and their customer service has always been good. However, I was ultimately unhappy with the quality of their VoIP service.
We had the service for less than 2 months, and on several occasions the other end of the call would go silent for a short period and then return. There was also a distracting echo during many calls. I inquired about these issues with tech support, but if they made any changes it did not fix the problems.
In addition, Yak's VoIP service did not work with our phone's voicemail message waiting indicator, meaning that we had to rely on email to know when we had a phone message. I was told that nothing could be done about this.
We switched to VoIP Much, and the call quality is much better, plus the voicemail indicator works as it should.

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 8, 2016
Hi David,

We're sorry to hear the experience was not what you had hoped for. Sometimes co-existing technology can play a role in said issue, a technology hiccup is different for each provider.

If you choose to rejoin Yak, please e-mail marketing@yak.ca and we'll facilitate resolution.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 3, 2016
Submitted by: Eilene Gerofsky (London, , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Depending on your provider, Yak is the best and is a wonderful price!

When in Florida, I use comcast and have no problem getting or making calls. It is sometimes a bit scratchy, by not often.
In Canada Rogers can be a bit of a problem with the router used. Cisco is good!
The savings is wonderful. thanks Yak

Reply from: The Yak Team
June 6, 2016
Hi Eilene,

Our pleasure! The Yak Home Phone adapter can be taken worldwide with you, if you decide you'd like to use our service in Florida or elsewhere :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
May 30, 2016
Submitted by: Kieran Spencer (Trois-Rivieres , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good price, good service

I'm now on month two of home phone service, and I'm very happy! Setting up wasn't too complicated, but I couldn't get it just right. I placed a call to customer service, and while the wait time to talk to a customer service agent was long, the person I (finally) spoke with was courteous, efficient, and knowledgeable. She was able to pinpoint the source of my issue and resolve it quickly and politely.

The quality doesn't seem any different than it did with our previous cable-provider based line (and it's better than the VoIP software that my company has switched all remote employees to).

And did I mention the price? My wallet is definitely thanking me for making the switch.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 30, 2016
Hi Kieran,

We're happy to hear you're enjoying Yak Home Phone service! That crystal-clear quality is Yak Clear Voice technology at work. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your experience even better (by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
April 29, 2016
Submitted by: Tony (Laval , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

YAK Home Phone VOIP

Been with Yak for over 1 year now and decided to switch due to Bell's high prices. Saving over $30/mo with yak plus I get 200 free long distance minutes to the USA which I use. Only drawback is that the line is not 100% crystal clear, I could blame that to the VOIP technology or my brand new Vtech phones but not an issue as the sound quality is very good nonetheless. The added features are great however no 3-way/conference calling; not a big issue as I can use my cell for that feature. Overall, I'm glad I switched, saving tons of money.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 29, 2016
Hi Tony,

We're glad to hear that. If you'd like to give us a call, we can try isolating what is keeping you from being fully crystal clear. Our all-star support team can be reached at 1-877-925-4925.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 13, 2016
Submitted by: Joseph Thomas (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Intermittent service

My home phone worked the way it should for a while. Then one day, I could hear people speak but I was not heard by them. I called yak multiple times and was told that the fault was at my end. Each time I called yak support I had to navigate their Voice Response System and sometimes was on hold for 30 minutes. For no reason, my phone started working again. Without my doing anything. After a few days, it stopped working. Which is the way it is at present.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 13, 2016
Hi Joseph,

Please send an e-mail to marketing@yak.ca, and we'll ensure a speedy and permanent resolution for you.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 12, 2016
Submitted by: Martin (West Vancouver , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It all works

Ordered ATA, installed no problem with temporary new number, tested a month, then ported my phone - all relatively smoothly (and I'm no tech wiz). I like voice mails being emailed to me as a wav file. While in UK recently, I used tablet (Zoiper app) to make calls - with international rates at $0.19, who's counting? And of course local calls (i.e. to Canada) are free. Very pleased.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 12, 2016
Hi Martin,

We're jazzed to hear Yak Home Phone (from install to testing to regular use) has exceeded your expectations!

Pro-tip: you can take your Yak Home Phone Adapter with you worldwide, connect it to the Internet, and enjoy calls to and from local friends back home as local calls! Talk about serious savings!!

If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
April 11, 2016
Submitted by: Greg W (Delta , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Digital hone phone

I had called four times to ask questions prior to ordering. Sales/tech reps were prompt in picking up the call; thorough in explications; patient with me; and above all, courteous. once we get to the cottage and set it up, and it works. I'll be sure to let neighbours know about Yak.

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 11, 2016
Hi Greg,

Thanks for the feedback. We're happy to have a place in your home away from home :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
April 11, 2016
Submitted by: Ryan Brownscombe (Peterborough , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best phone service ever!!

I have used voip phone service for many years ... tried all the big names aka Vonage, impact connect, ITP, teksavvy, ooma, magic jack, and nettalk! Nothing compares to YAK!! The sound quality is excellent!!! People say it sounds like a real landline phone they cant tell the difference ! Unlike all the others ibe tred! .. also my calls don't cut off after a certain time of being on the phone and that used to be a huge problem as normally I talk for hours !!!! Had 1 issue with yak for setup but called and was resolved quickly very nice and quick customer service!! I'm never leaving yak!!!

Reply from: The Yak Team
April 12, 2016
Hi Ryan,

Wonderful to hear you've found a permanent home with Yak! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please send us an e-mail and let us know - marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Can I connect my alarm?


Hi Antonella,Your alarm requires a separate dedicated connection to run.Sincerely,The Yak Team!

Rating  2     Rating  1 Report abuse

how does my local family call me without paying long distance charges?


Hi Ken,If your family is local, there shouldnt be long distance charges. Please e-mail us for more information (marketing@yak.ca).Sincerely,The Yak Team

Rating  1     Rating  1 Report abuse

Does internet connection include email? I


Hi Greta, No specialty domain e-mail is included with our Internet service. We suggest using a known and highly trusted e-mail, such as Google (Gmail.com) or Microsoft (Outlook.com). Sincerely, The Yak Team
Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse

How do i get the app? I only find yak callback in ios/chrome, which is different from this.


Hi Noah,We've discontinued the Home Phone app for the moment. We will announce when relaunched. Sincerely,The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse

I want to keep the same phone number, do you cancel my exixting service or do I? Can I use a LNKsys 2012 router?


Hi Jerry, When you sign up for Yak Home Phone, our team will send you a porting form. That allows us to bring your current number over to Yak, and informs your provider that you are switching services. If you cancel with them before switching, you'll likely lose your number. Your Linksys will not work as a Home Phone adapter, but should work with our Internet service. If you have any additional questions, we're happy to field them at 1-866-748-1076. Sincerely, The Yak Team
Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to Know It’s The Right Time to Move To The Cloud Platform1

2As more and more businesses understand's the many advantages of keeping vital information on the easy-to-access Cloud Drive, a Cloud based infrastructure is becoming more and more commonplace. Despite the growing popularity, not everyone knows …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Future is Fast

5G networks to give boost of up to 80 times the current 4G network speeds A 5G network would have a significant impact on Canada’s mobile landscape, far more than what we have seen with the …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Is Your Internet Unlimited?

Unlimited Internet. Sounds great, right? Of course it does, which is why we often see ads promising unlimited Internet at breakneck speeds. But is your Internet provider really giving you truly unlimited web access? Are …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Evolution of Wearable Technology

Wearable technology is one of the most innovative and exciting developments of today’s tech industry. In the last five years wearables have received increased attention as many technologies have evolved, matured, and become more mainstream. Big …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  1
Report abuse

Top Ten Saving Tips for Students

It’s almost time to return to school, which for some means having to make tough decisions such as eating healthy or saving that money for partying. We get it - Tuesday is $2 drinks night, …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(84 ) Reviews + (78) Replies: 162

Rating  69%     Rating  31%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$4.75 / mo.
Read 159 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 44 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
CAD $11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$5.99 / mo.
Read 50 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Yak
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
Worldline
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
Page generated in 1.368 seconds.